top of page

The Pros and Cons of Joining a CSA

Community supported agriculture, or CSA, is one of the main ways you can buy directly from a local farmer. At the beginning of the season you buy a "share" of what the farm produces for the year. This share is usually picked up once every week, but every other week is also common.

The share usually consists of various vegetables, although fruit and other types of shares are also generally available.

I've been wanting to join a CSA since I read the book "The Omnivore's Dilemma" the first time. That was in high school, and five years later I'm finally taking the plunge. I'm really excited about this, so I thought I would share some of the pros and cons involved with belonging to a CSA.

Cons:

Pricey: A share can be anywhere from four hundred to seven hundred dollars. This fee is usually meant for one or two people. If you have a large family then participating in a CSA can get very expensive very quickly. The bill is also generally due at the beginning of the year, but there are some farms that will accept payment in installments throughout the season.

Little Choice: You get a portion of whatever your farmer harvested that week. This can mean that there are a lot of undesired vegetables in your box. For instance, I hate celery, but since it's a mainstream vegetable I can probably count on getting some this year.

Of course you and I can always give that celery to somebody else.

Scheduled commitment: If you choose to get a share you are going to have to pick up that box every week. This may not be a problem for most of the responsible adult population, but I'm certainly going to have to set an alarm in my phone.

Pros:

Fresh Food: This is the apex of fresh, local, and seasonal eating. Your produce will be at it's most delicious and nutritious.

You also know exactly where your food was grown, and how it was grown. When you know the farmer there's an amount of insurance that goes into that transaction. You can trust that they'll stick to their values because you know and trust them. That's the safest food in the world.

Local Money: All of your food dollar is going into the local economy when you buy directly from the farmer. In a world where only of few cents of every dollar spent at the supermarket makes it back to the farmers this is a huge bonus in my book.

Adventurous: A box of produce that you've already paid for is a great gateway to trying new foods. I've been trying to expand my palate, so I'm excited to eat things I've never heard of before. I might even figure out a way to like celery this year.

What do you think? Will you ever try out a CSA? Or is it just not for you?

bottom of page