top of page

The Bees are Gone

When I checked in on the bees last Saturday they were just gone. It happens sometimes. There's something they don't like about the hive, so they move on.

I sacrificed a lot to get those bees.

I sold a few things around the house to raise funds. I saved all of my fun money for months. I even put Mountain Rose Designs on hold for the winter, so we could siphon those funds into this. After all, bees have to be purchased in by January, and the hives have to be built by May. I can develop new patterns any old time.

I argued, and stressed, and cried for them.

I knew that I was too emotionally involved, but I couldn't seem to ease up.

It was all going to be worth it. This hive was going to be the start of my life coming together. The starting pistol of the marathon that is my future career. I was going to get through a steep learning curve, and I would love and hate it all at once.

Now they're gone, but i'm still here waiting for the race to begin.

The tears have come and gone. They helped me feel a bit better, that way a good long cry does. Now there's nothing left to do but move on.

We'll try again. It's possible that I can catch a swarm. Or that I can purchase a brushed divide from another beekeeper. Either will only be viable option for about two more weeks, but there's a chance we can make it work.

If we can't have bees this year then there will be next year to try again. If 2017 doesn't work then maybe 2018 will. The time will pass either way, and I might as well keep trying.

If you have experienced some setbacks lately I hope you no longer feel as alone. Life often sucks, but we can both get through it.

I promise.

Goodbye, little friends

bottom of page