top of page

A Few Flowers More

Spring flirts here in Salt Lake City. We'll get a warm day here, a lovely mild week there, and suddenly there will be snow and dreariness for the rest of the month. It gets me every time. I think "this year, this year we're getting spring in Feburary!" and I happily prepare for the greatest gardening year of my career.

I love it all the same. I love starting seeds, I love dreaming big. The potential of the coming year is simply delectible.

In that spirit I've decided to start a little project here on the blog.

A floral seed library.

A online seed library is kind of an uncommon concept. Essentially, I'll house the seeds, and when you want to check some out you'll puruse out my library page and send me a request (through email, or facebook). I'll send you my address, and you'll send me a bubble envelope.

Inside that envelope you'll include: enough postage for your return trip, your name/email, your address, and a list of your requests.

I'll send you your seeds, and you'll grow some beautiful amazing flowers. At the end of the season you'll save the seeds and send a portion back to me.

Next year the cycle will continue, and the year after that, hopefully until the end of the universe.

Honestly, it probably won't be terribly cost effective, but you'll be able to try a lot more varieties, just in smaller amounts. Hopefully, it'll also foster a sense of online community here.

Ever since my personal slow flower challenge I've begun to really love growing flowers. I even got just a touch weepy when my sister-in-law gave me a packet of Lupines for Christmas. I want to share some of that passion with you.

Right now my selection is fairly limited, but I'm hoping to pick up a few more things in the next couple of weeks.

So let me know what you want to see in the library. You can either comment below, or on my facebook page.


bottom of page